Foolproof Recipes

I love foolproof recipes.

Admit it. Following instructions is not always straightforward. When you get into that kitchen-mode, that zone where you’re jamming to your favourite music while gathering all your ingredients while envisioning how everything will come together while daydreaming in your head that you’re on some Food Network Show while blissfully anticipating how happy your tastebuds will be very soon… Something ALWAYS go wrong.

Here are 3 foolproof recipes that I love:

  1. Herb and Lemon Roasted Chicken
  2. Tomato Basil Soup
  3. Baked Spaghetti Squash Al Forno

For example: I’ve never bought, washed, held, cooked, or roasted a whole chicken before. I didn’t realize I needed a “roasting pan with a rack”. I screwed up the garlic measurements and added 5 times the amount. I couldn’t give all parts of the chicken the buttery love that they deserved. I couldn’t fit all the garnishes into the baking dish. And… the lemon up top burnt.

Herb Lemon Roasted Chicken

The amazing thing was that it still turned out amazing. (Taste is first, presentation is secondary.) That soot-looking lemon rind (which is supposed to be bitter) somehow enhanced the leftover jus dripping when I absentmindedly (again) included it.

The other two recipes are sourced from my former girl crush, Chrissy Teigen. She now has more Instagram followers than her hubby John Legend (which I find is a bit unacceptable). I gather from her Instagram life that cooking while juggling 3 adorbs dogs, a cool mom and a distracting husband and taking photos also mean that her recipes do not require laser-sharp focus.Tomato Basil SoupMmmm tomato basil soup like I’ve never tasted before. Indeed #soupmaster

Spaghetti Squash YumCan a vegetable really replace my love for everything pasta?Spaghetti Squash Al FornoOh haaay you don’t look half that bad…Spaghetti Squash LasagnaI swear that it tastes 95% like a baked lasagna/spaghetti. And that’s pretty close for a vegetable.

I can personally attest that these recipes are foolproof as I have been super distracted while putting together these dishes for the first time. There were numerous improvisation of ingredients and “oops, let’s just make the best of it” moments. In the end, they still tasted awesome. I was impressed. My guests were impressed. I was impressed my guests were impressed. Anyways. Try them. Impress yourselves.