My Top 5 Food Obsessions in 2014

Does anyone else think the year 2014 kind of flew by?

As I look back over the past year, I thought about my personal food-related preoccupations. What kept me hungry for more? So I came up with this list.

What are / were some of yours?

 

My Top 5 Food Obsessions in 2014:

  1. Dutch ovens
  2. Salad jars
  3. Anthony Bourdain shows – which? All of them: Parts Unknown, The Layover, No Reservations
  4. Instagram healthy accounts
  5. Breakfasts at work

 

1) DUTCH OVENS

dutch oven

Dutch ovens are kind of amazing. We have become BFFs in a few short months. If you don’t already have one and are looking for a gift to treat yourself this year, this is THE gift! You could literally use it to cook anything – stew, roast, bake bread… use it on stove top, in the oven, over camp fire. It’s also great for making one-pot-wonders. A great book that provides dutch oven recipes is Elizabeth Yarnell’s Glorious One-Pot Meals.

Glorious One PotHer recipes make healthy and delicious entire meals in one pot. Sounds like our college days? A little bit. I admit I was doubtful in the beginning but have been amazed at how well the flavours infused together and how well the meat and vegetables cooked. The meat was never overdone. The vegetables didn’t turn into mush.

All the recipes are so quick to throw together. Arrange the ingredients all in one pot. Pop it in the oven and then you’re good to go do other things during the 30-45 minutes that it cooks. Clean up is a breeze too.

All super healthy and easy to make.

one-pot-meal-before one-pot-meals-beforeone-pot-meal-after one-pot-meals-after

2) SALAD JARS

I don’t think there needs to be much explanation here. The internet is already over-flowing with better looking jars than mine. I just find it extremely functional. A standard tomato sauce glass jar can actually pack a lot!

DSC_0350 DSC_0215 DSC_0238

Here are a few tips I’ve picked up:

  • Dressing always go at the bottom.
  • Avoid putting leafy greens right at the bottom or else it will end up soaking up the sauce.
  • Right before eating, take a minute to shake the jar so the dressing gets distributed evenly.

 

3) ANTHONY BOURDAIN SHOWS

anthony bourdain sandwich

Tony’s shows have just the right amount of travel, food and culture. I love how he is just unfazed by the local cultures (the Tokyo episode anyone?), how he embraces their food traditions (no matter how weird or dirty) and how he takes the view point of – “Hey, maybe it is the West that is actually backwards and could learn something here”, and of course, his sporadically vulgar (but oh-so-witty) comments. My favourite recent episode from the Parts Unknown series is when he went to Iran. Iran is definitely on my bucket list now.

 

4) INSTAGRAM HEALTHY ACCOUNTS

Some of these are more fitspo-heavy but I mainly follow them for their healthy recipes and food inspirations. I also like to think that I can subconsciously train myself to want to eat healthy things if I see more of it…

  • fresh_workouts_foods
  • colorfulfoodie
  • myhungrybites
  • shonda1020
  • healthyfitnessmeals
  • feelgoodfoodie
  • collegecookin
  • cookinwithmima
  • lovehealthfitness
  • healthyfoodadvice

 

5) BREAKFASTS AT WORK

This is another one of those topics I will not elaborate on.

Let’s just say that… yogurt/milk X cut up seasonal fruits cereal/oatmeal have been keeping me happy for over 9 months now. All these ingredients I can keep in the fridge or by my desk.

Just think, all the different types of yogurt – plain, flavoured, greek, etc. What about cereal? Shreddies, cornflakes, granola, etc. The combinations are literally endless!

activia-yogurt-cups    X    cut up fruits    X    qia cranberry

IMG_20141103_091620 IMG_20141104_093658 Gross-looking but yum. :)

